What’s New?

Stay up to date with DTABC! Just bookmark this page to keep up with the latest in events, developments, and updates with the DTABC.

Check out the online courses available
Presented by DTABC and ADTO

    IPS e-max Press Technology course. This is an introductory course that covers the fundamental of the IPS e.max technique including IPS e.max components for pressing [IPS e.max Press and IPS e.max Zirpress] and IPS e.max Ceram for the layering fabrication technique.

    This online course will earn participants six CE credits recognized by the College of Dental Technicians of BC. After completion of the online course, it is recommended that participants attend a one-day "Press Layering Workshop" offered by Ivoclar Vivadent. DTABC will organize this workshop based on the number of interested participants.  

     Course Fee: DTABC Members- $149 + GST | Non-members- $249 + GST

    Human Resource Management, Records Keeping Guidelines & WHMIS
    10 hours- 10 non-technical CE Credits

    Human Recourse Management includes recruiting the right people, keeping the right people, discipline and termination, organizational development, conflict management, and diversity within the workplace. These topics are explored within the legal concepts and framework within the context of the profession of dental technology in British Columbia and Ontario.

    Record Keeping Guidelines summarizes how to manage information and records to be able to respond to business opportunities, recover from disaster and comply with standards and regulations. These guidelines complement the standards set by the RCDSO and the CDSBC.

    WHMIS (workplace hazardous materials information system) is an approved course to obtain the certification that is mandatory Canada-wide. (Download certification after passing test on completion

    Course fee: DTABC members- $199 + GST | Non members- $399 + GST

    To learn more about the courses and to register please click here.

    Expanded Scope of Practice Proposal Update

    DTABC Expanded Scope of Practice Proposal Update

    Our expanded Scope of Practice Proposal has been submitted to the Ministry of Health of the BC government.

    We hope to meet with government official along with the Registar of the College of Dental Technicians in the fall of 2018 to answer any questions on the proposal.

    This has been a long process and unfortunately we are at the mercy of the government's time frame and priorities.

    We will send updates as they occur.

    In the meantime, you can click below to review the proposal.

    DTABC's Expanded Scope of Practice Proposal

    Alberta's Scope of Practice

    If you have any questions, please let us know in your e-mail response to office@dentaltechniciansofbc.com

    Thank you.

    Chris Opitz, Chair of Scope of Practice Committee
    Malcolm Ashford, Executive Director

    Office: 604 278 6279 or toll free 1 888 495 4566

    Election Update for 2018 Board of Directors

    Congratulations to the following members who have been elected to the 2018 Board of Directors:

    Ken Izumi
    Sachiyo Lei
    John Eggeling
    Nadja Jakobi

    John and Nadja were re-elected to another three-year term. Ken and Sachiyo are new to the Board and will attend their first Board meeting in 2018.

    79 people voted in this year's election which was held on November 24, 2017. This represents a 25% response from our current RDT members.

    The Board can from time to time appoint members to the Board. At the recent November 25th Board meeting, the Board passed a motion to appoint Calvin Moon to the Board. Calvin has accepted to be on the Board as an appointed director.

    According to the DTABC bylaws, the board will be made up of six elected directors and can have a maximum of up to five appointed directors.

    Your 2018 Board of Directors is listed below.

    Chris Opitz, President [elected director]
    Olaf Lutz, Vice President [elected director]

    Ken Izumi, elected director
    Sachiyo Lei, elected director
    John Eggeling, elected director
    Nadja Jakobi, elected director

    Dragan Lipovac, appointed director
    Stuart Thomson, appointed director
    Greg Tamkin, appointed director
    Calvin Moon, appointed director